PSL (Premier Squash League) is a tournament organised by England Squash where clubs from around the country vie for the title of National Champions.

NOTE : The info below relates to the full PSL Format, which was curtailed towards the end of the 2019/20 season due to COVID.

The PSL returns in Spring/Summer 2022 with and abbreviated PSL Cup format, and is expected to resume in full after that.


The competition is split into two Divisions, based roughly on geography Northern and Southern divisions.

Normally there are five or six teams in each division with new teams able to apply to join the league during the off-season.

Fixtures take place between September and May with teams playing each other both home and away within their divisions. The top two teams then progress to semi-finals and a final.  Players must have played at least one League match to be eligible for the playoffs.


Teams must nominate their squads (maximum of 15 players) at the start of the season and can change, with some restrictions, during the Christmas break. Two extra players can be added for the second half.

Each squad can contain no more than three male players ranked in the world’s top 30* and two female players ranked in the world’s top 30* (but only one in the top 15)

*as of the preceding 1st Sep PSA rankings

Team Playing order to be determined by the PSA rankings at the start of each half (active PSA players only)

Team Introductions
Team Introductions


Fixtures are usually played on Tuesday nights, starting at 7pm (no later than 7.30), with two courts in use for each tie (some clubs use just one court).

A tie consists of five players from each team playing their opposite number (a match). Teams must field two female players (at numbers four and five) and include a minimum of one male and one female player from the UK.

Each match is played best of THREE games PAR scoring to 11, 2 clear.

Points are awarded as follows: ONE point for each game won, plus THREE points for the winning team (whoever wins the most matches).

2016 Champions Surrey


The league has been running since 1983. Originally called the “Amex League”, it became the “National League”  and was rebranded to PSL in 2005.


The league is administered centrally by England Squash.

Full 2019-20 PSL Regulations